When you want to update or merge a file, use the
command. For files that are not up to date this is roughly equivalent
checkout command: the newest revision of the file is
extracted from the repository and put in your working directory.
Your modifications to a file are never lost when you
update. If no newer revision exists,
update has no effect. If you have
edited the file, and a newer revision is available,
CVS will merge all changes into your working copy.
For instance, imagine that you checked out revision 1.4 and started
editing it. In the meantime someone else committed revision 1.5, and
shortly after that revision 1.6. If you run
update on the file
now, CVS will incorporate all changes between revision 1.4 and 1.6 into
If any of the changes between 1.4 and 1.6 were made too
close to any of the changes you have made, an
overlap occurs. In such cases a warning is
printed, and the resulting file includes both
versions of the lines that overlap, delimited by
See section update--Bring work tree in sync with repository, for a complete description of the
Go to the first, previous, next, last section, table of contents.