Directories change. New files are added, and old files disappear. Still, you want to be able to retrieve an exact copy of old releases.
Here is what you can do to remove a file, but remain able to retrieve old revisions:
updatecommand. If you remove the file without committing your changes, you will of course not be able to retrieve the file as it was immediately before you deleted it.
When you commit the removal of the file, CVS
records the fact that the file no longer exists. It is
possible for a file to exist on only some branches and
not on others, or to re-add another file with the same
name later. CVS will correctly create or not create
the file, based on the `-r' and `-D' options
Schedule file(s) to be removed from the repository (files which have not already been removed from the working directory are not processed). This command does not actually remove the file from the repository until you commit the removal. For a full list of options, see section Quick reference to CVS commands.
Here is an example of removing several files:
$ cd test $ rm *.c $ cvs remove cvs remove: Removing . cvs remove: scheduling a.c for removal cvs remove: scheduling b.c for removal cvs remove: use 'cvs commit' to remove these files permanently $ cvs ci -m "Removed unneeded files" cvs commit: Examining . cvs commit: Committing .
As a convenience you can remove the file and
remove it in one step, by specifying the `-f'
option. For example, the above example could also be
done like this:
$ cd test $ cvs remove -f *.c cvs remove: scheduling a.c for removal cvs remove: scheduling b.c for removal cvs remove: use 'cvs commit' to remove these files permanently $ cvs ci -m "Removed unneeded files" cvs commit: Examining . cvs commit: Committing .
If you execute
remove for a file, and then
change your mind before you commit, you can undo the
remove with an
$ ls CVS ja.h oj.c $ rm oj.c $ cvs remove oj.c cvs remove: scheduling oj.c for removal cvs remove: use 'cvs commit' to remove this file permanently $ cvs add oj.c U oj.c cvs add: oj.c, version 126.96.36.199, resurrected
If you realize your mistake before you run the
remove command you can use
resurrect the file:
$ rm oj.c $ cvs update oj.c cvs update: warning: oj.c was lost U oj.c
When you remove a file it is removed only on the branch which you are working on (see section Branching and merging). You can later merge the removals to another branch if you want (see section Merging can add or remove files).
Go to the first, previous, next, last section, table of contents.